Aqueduct in February: Haynesfield takes the Whirlaway Stakes

Haynesfield wins the Whirlaway Stakes at Aqueduct

Saturday 2/7/09

In the world of a racing fan/rock dork, the drive to the racetrack is special thing. The ten-minute long, windows-open, hair blowing in the breeze, arm-out-the-window jaunt to Monmouth Park is the embodiment of summer at the Jersey Shore. The ride home from Delaware Park is a balmy ordeal, sitting in weekend traffic on the Turnpike. And there’s the holiest of racetrack sojourns, the drive to Saratoga. My Saratoga trips are most evocative, partly because of the destination, partly because of the time I leave my house (1am or so), and party because of the distance I drive (a little over 3 hours). My car is loaded to the gills with rock for these journeys.

Pony Tail II

Feet

On Saturday, I took the hour-long drive to Aqueduct. The weather was unseasonably warm so I was able to do my favorite thing ever: blast music with the windows open and the heat on in the car. Who did I listen to? The usual suspects: The Wipers’ “Up Front”, Curtis Mayfield’s “Move On Up”, The Cold War Kids’ “Something is Not Right With Me”, The Thermals’ cover of “Misfit”, and so many more.

Welcome to The Big A

It was a short and extremely pleasant day at the track. I saw a few friends, some really nice horses, and Ramon Dominguez’s 5-race win streak.

Haitian Sensation won in style, piloted by Dominguez.

Start of the 6th

Haitian Sensation and Ramon Dominguez

Smart Tomcat and Haitian Sensation at the start of the 6th

Here’s Cary Away, half brother to Congaree:

Cary Away, half brother to Congaree

Haynesfield was the star of the day, winning the Whirlaway Stakes with ease, giving Dominguez his 5th win on the day. The colt’s last win was the Count Fleet Stakes. Haynesfield’s next start is next month’s Gotham Stakes. I’m already compiling music for my next trip to the Big A :^)

Haynesfield, winner of the Whirlaway Stakes

Ramon Dominguez and Haynesfield return to the winners circle after winning the Whirlaway Stakes

Leave a comment