I Want Revenge and Joe Talamo win the Wood Memorial!

Aqueduct Photographers, by Bud Morton
Aqueduct Photographers, by Bud Morton


Sarah K. Andrew, originally uploaded by lensjockey.

Wood Memorial 2009!

Saturday 4/4/09

Derby Fever has smitten even the most reasonable racing fans. Today was action-packed and many a handicapper is wrestling with the mental gymnastics provided by the results of today’s races. On the West Coast, grey wonder The Pamplemousse (aka Fruit Loop) was scratched from the Santa Anita Derby due to a tendon issue. In his absence, Pioneerof The Nile dominated.

A few hours earlier at Aqueduct, I Want Revenge won the Wood Memorial under jockey Joe Talamo. If you have not seen the video, check it out. I Want Revenge has a slow and awkward start (pictured below) and overcame traffic to win comfortably. Talamo’s riding was superb- he sat chilly on the horse and aided him as he threaded his way through the field, finishing smartly with minimal encouragement.

Here they are out of the gate…

Left at the Gate: Slow Start in the Wood for I Want Revenge and Joe Talamo

And a few other photos from the race. I was pleasantly surprised to hear a LOUD cheer from the crowd when Talamo returned to the winner’s circle and again when he walked through the paddock. Increased awareness of these amazing athletes is a wonderful byproduct of the success of Animal Planet’s Jockeys.

Check out my Flickr photostream for more photos of the day’s racing.

I Want Revenge and jockey Joe Talamo win the Grade 1 Wood Memorial. Next stop... Churchill Downs!

Jockey Joe Talamo after winning the Wood Memorial aboard I Want Revenge

Jockey Joe Talamo is interviewed after winning the Wood Memorial with I Want Revenge

7 thoughts on “I Want Revenge and Joe Talamo win the Wood Memorial!

  1. Props to LensJockey also for capturing the “willowy hairdo”.

    What’re the words? “so purty” ?

    I would have attended once again,
    but frankly the lighting stinks in the Saddling Pit. 😉

    Like

Leave a comment