Kentucky Derby 135: What a Ride!

Mine That Bird and Calvin Borel win the 135th Kentucky Derby

I’ve been back in New Jersey for a few days now, but my head is still spinning from the amazing experiences I had in Kentucky. Rolex, the Derby, the Oaks, the farms, the Horse Park… it was an unforgettable adventure.

Churchill Downs, © Charles Pravata
Churchill Downs, © Charles Pravata

When I first arrived at Churchill Downs, I must admit I was underwhelmed. It was raining, I was lugging a lot of equipment, and my amazing experiences at Rolex were fresh in my mind (more on that soon!). I expected to gasp at the sight of the Twin Spires and marvel at the experience, but it was not until Oaks Day when I was shooting the races when it really hit me. The history, the tradition, the horseflesh. Rachel Alexandra in her epic run. Mine That Bird battling the field and winning by 8. And I had the best seat in the house. I’ll break the weeks down into bite-sized pieces and share them with the RNR Blog community.

2009 Kentucky Oaks: Rachel Alexandra and Calvin Borel first, the rest nowhere

2 thoughts on “Kentucky Derby 135: What a Ride!

  1. Welcome back to blogging.

    I was wondering if you were suffering from burnout.
    But it looks like you had a good time and you were simply suffering from
    a bout of depression at the sight of the first E-Z pass on the Turnpike. 😛

    I’ll chime in later but for now you gotta hand it to “Chuck” for
    getting up bright and early that week.
    The Canon man’s been workin’ hard.

    Like

  2. Thanks Norm! I broke Blogging Rule #1 by not posting for so long, but I simply could not keep up. No burnout here- I’m more motivated than ever :^) And I hope to get back to Kentucky soon.

    Chuck’s pics rock. Just wait til you see the one he got of Rachel and her googley eye.

    Like

Leave a comment